How many states in Australia (Updated 2023)

Australia is a country located in the Southern Hemisphere, comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands.

How many states in Australia: In this article, we will learn how many states there are in australia. Let us first take an overview of the topic, then we will go into the details.

There are 6 states in Australia. The term “states” is widely used and understood in Australia to describe these divisions.. Australia is divided into six states and two territories. The states are New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, and Tasmania. The two territories are the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and the Northern Territory.

  1. New South Wales (NSW)
  2. Victoria (VIC)
  3. Queensland (QLD)
  4. South Australia (SA)
  5. Western Australia (WA)
  6. Tasmania (TAS)

How many states in Australia

How many states in Australia

List of states in Australia | How many states in Australia

Also read- 

How many states in Russia | How many states in Brazil | How many states in China

Let’s know the names of these states and some information related to them.

New South Wales(NSW)

New South Wales (NSW) is a state located on the east coast of Australia.

New South Wales is bordered by Queensland to the north, Victoria to the south, South Australia to the west, and the Tasman Sea to the east.

The capital of New South Wales is Sydney, which is also the most populous city in Australia. Sydney is known for its iconic landmarks such as the Sydney Opera House and the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Victoria (VIC)

Victoria is a state located in southeastern Australia. It is the smallest mainland state in terms of both land area and population.

The state is bordered by New South Wales to the north, South Australia to the west, and the Bass Strait to the south, separating it from the island state of Tasmania.

Victoria’s capital city is Melbourne, which is also the second-most populous city in Australia.

States of Australia

Queensland (QLD)

Queensland is a state located in northeastern Australia.

Queensland offers a wealth of attractions and natural wonders. The Great Barrier Reef is one of the world’s most famous marine ecosystems and attracts visitors from around the globe.

Queensland is the third-most populous state in Australia.

The capital of Queensland is Brisbane, which is the third-most populous city in Australia.

South Australia (SA)

South Australia is a state located in the central-southern part of Australia. It covers an area of about 983,482 square kilometers, making it the fourth-largest state in Australia.

Adelaide is the capital and largest city of South Australia. It is known for its grid-like layout and parklands surrounding the city center.

South Australia is renowned for its wine production. It is home to several world-famous wine regions, including the Barossa Valley, McLaren Vale, Clare Valley, and Adelaide Hills.

Western Australia (WA)

Western Australia is a vast state located in the western part of Australia. It occupies about one-third of the country’s total land area and is the largest state in Australia.

Perth is the capital and largest city of Western Australia.

Western Australia’s vast landscapes, unique natural attractions, and thriving resource industry make it a distinctive part of Australia.

Tasmania (TAS)

Tasmania is an island state located off the southern coast of Australia. It is the 26th-largest island in the world and covers an area of about 68,401 square kilometers (26,410 square miles). Tasmania is separated from mainland Australia by the Bass Strait.

Hobart is the capital and largest city of Tasmania, situated in the southeastern part of the island. Other major cities and towns include Launceston, Devonport, Burnie, and Ulverstone.

I hope this article, “How many states in Australia” proves helpful for you. Thanks for reading!

Note: All the data given in the article may vary with the date.

Leave a Comment